I came across his strange-looking fungus called Devil’s fingers while in the New Forest this morning. It is also known as an octopus stinkhorn or octopus fungus. Its eye-catching red tentacles splay out like a starfish. It looks like it is from another world!
At the start of World War, One much of the timber required by the UK came from Canada. By 1916 Canadian timber could no longer be imported on a large enough scale to meet requirements for the war effort as there were not enough freight ships for all the country’s munitions, food and other essential items. Timber production from English forests and woodlands had to be increased to meet the Canadian shortfall. Labour was short due to the war. To harvest local timber the First Battalion of Lumbermen was formed of 1500 Canadian workers who started coming to the UK. The Canadians brought over their own equipment an initial advance party of 15 Canadians set up in a camp near Lyndhurst. which quickly grew and later received help from Portuguese labourers.
The camp was some 4 to 5 acres in size and surrounded by fences It was like a self-contained village with over 25 huts. Including workshops and even a hospital. At the height of the camp’s usage, there were around 100 Portuguese and 200 associated workers on site. There was also a Light railway that helped speed up timber production. Other camps were set up mainly in Southern England.
Little remains of the timber camp today as most of the buildings were wooden.
Concrete remains of the sawmill.
Now a monument “The Portuguese fireplace” is the chimney of the former cookhouse.
Timber Work in the New Forest is still being undertaken.
The countries in the Red the countryside is in the Red.
Cauliflower Fungus, Wood Cauliflower, and Brain Fungus are uncommon. the visible parts of this fungi above ground are fattened lobes in colour they can be light brown, buff to yellow/grey to creamy white. They have no gills, but this mushroom has tiny pores. It is found on conifer roots, especially pine. It is claimed they are good to eat.
RAF Beaulieu was also known as USAAF Station AAF 408. It is located near the village of East Boldre, and about 2 miles west of the village of Beaulieu. The area had early links with flying. During the First World War, a Royal Flying Corps training airfield, RFC Beaulieu, at East Boldre was established this was closed in 1919. The World War 2 RAF Beaulieu was built on the opposite side of the road to the aerodrome it opened in 1942. During the war, it was used as a bomber and fighter airfield. After the war, it was used for experimental work before it was closed in 1959.
The area around the airfield is heath and made a good circular and flat walk this morning. Some areas of the runways remain but much has been removed.
Lots of Fungi were starting to show.
Kestrel. We later watched this bird catch a snake and fly off with it.
After getting our COVID booster shot today we headed into the New Forest. Cadmams pool near Stoney Cross Airfield. Opened in 1942, it served both the Royal Air Force and United States Army 9Air Forces. During WW2 it functioned primarily as a combat bomber and fighter airfield. It closed in January 1948.
Locals routinely leave birdseed on the ground or on posts in the copse next to the pond, So it is a good place to spot some of our small woodland birds close up.
Marsh Tits and Willow Tits are very similar and difficult to tell apart, here at Chapmans Pool it was the Marsh Tit enjoying the sunflower seeds.
You are never far from deer or fungi in the New Forest.