RAF Beaulieu was also known as USAAF Station AAF 408. It is located near the village of East Boldre, and about 2 miles west of the village of Beaulieu. The area had early links with flying. During the First World War, a Royal Flying Corps training airfield, RFC Beaulieu, at East Boldre was established this was closed in 1919. The World War 2 RAF Beaulieu was built on the opposite side of the road to the aerodrome it opened in 1942. During the war, it was used as a bomber and fighter airfield. After the war, it was used for experimental work before it was closed in 1959.
The area around the airfield is heath and made a good circular and flat walk this morning. Some areas of the runways remain but much has been removed.
Lots of Fungi were starting to show.
Kestrel. We later watched this bird catch a snake and fly off with it.